Tyrolean rock oil

The particularity of Tyrolean rock oil

The origen from the "healthy natural power"

Tyrolean rock oil is obtained from oil shale which is over 180 million years old. In the Lias Era the fossil sedimentation of the primordial Mediterranean Sea, the so called "Thetis", originated these rock formations. The origin of the Alps in the Bächen Valley (Karwendel, Achensee-Tyrol) pushed these rock layers to 1800m above the sea level.

The particularity of this stone is on the one hand the high oil content which corresponds to 4-6% of the entire volume and, on the other hand, the rests of ancient sea creatures and plants. Thanks to its high concentration of naturally bound sulfur, Tyrolean rock oil has extraordinary beneficial and nourishing effects for all animal and human beings. It can be used for instance as gentle care product for your skin and hair or as well-tried household remedy for the aching locomotor system and for rheumatic pains.

This effect has been confirmed over and over again by renowned physicians, naturopaths, and innumerable satisfied customers.

Extraction of Tyrolean rock oil

In 1902 Martin Albrecht sen., a passionate mineral collector, found by accident in Seeberg, close to the Geisalm alpine pasture at the Lake Achensee, dark brown pieces or a rock which he immediately identified as oil shale. He began the extraction using the simplest tools and started the production of the first Tyrolean rock oil.

Since this location was relatively poor in oil shale, Martin Albrecht searched for more and in 1908 he finally found a big oil shale deposit in the Bächen Valley, a remote tributary valley of the Karwendel Mountains at 1440 m above the sea level.

Today, Albrecht’s descendants of the third generation continue the business of the forefathers with the most modern technologies. The oil shale is extracted using open-pit mining and then charged into shaft furnaces. During the heating process the oil volatilizes and forms a white steam which is aspirated and cooled in condensation towers. Here the steam condenses as rock oil.

At the end of the process raw rock oil is naturally treated in the refinery of Jenbach in the lower Inn Valley. The final products are subject to continuous and strict quality controls in the factory-own laboratory.

NEW: Tyrolean Rock Oil (Tiroler Steinöl®) at the Vitalberg
At the Vitalberg visitor center in Pertisau you will learn everything about the origin, the meaning and the applications of the Tyrolean rock oil and you will enjoy the chronicle of a little family-run company in the Karwendel mountains.

 

» back

Deutsch English

Tiroler Steinöl

Das Besondere an Tiroler Steinöl

Der Ursprung der "Gesunden Naturkraft"

Das Tiroler Steinöl wird aus Ölschiefer gewonnen, der über 180 Millionen Jahre alt ist. Im Erdzeitalter Lias enstanden aus fossilen Ablagerungen des Ur-Mittelmeeres "Thetis" diese Gesteinsschichten. Bei der Entstehung der Alpen im Bächental (Karwendel, Achensee-Tirol) wurden sie auf 1800m über dem Meeresspiegel hochgedrückt.

Das Besondere an diesem Gestein ist zum einen der hohe Ölgehalt mit 4 - 6 % und zum anderen die Wirkstoffe aus den vorzeitlichen Meerestieren und Pflanzen. Durch seinen hohen Gehalt an natürlich gebundenem Schwefel hat das Tiroler Steinöl eine außerordentlich wohltuende und pflegende Wirkung für Mensch und Tier - egal ob als mildes Pflegemittel für Haut und Haar, oder als altbewährtes Hausmittel für den schmerzenden Bewegungsapparat bis hin zu rheumatischen Beschwerden.

Die Wirkung wird immer wieder von bekannten Ärzten, Heilpraktikern ungezählten zufriedenen Kunden bestätigt.

Gewinnung von Tiroler Steinöl

Martin Albrecht sen., ein passionierter Mineraliensammler, fand 1902 am Seeberg, nahe der Geisalm am Achensee, durch Zufall dunkelbraune Felsbrocken, die er sofort als Ölschiefer identifizierte. Mit einfachsten Werkzeugen startete er den Abbau und die Produktion vom ersten Tiroler Steinöl.

Da an dieser Stelle das Vorkommen jedoch relativ gering war, suchte Martin Albrecht weiter und fand dann auch 1908 im Bächental, einem abgelegenen Seitental des Karwendelgebirges, auf 1440 m Seehöhe eine mächtige Ölschieferlagerstätte.

Heute führen seine Nachkommen in 3. Generation den Betrieb mit moderner Technologie im Sinne ihrer Vorfahren weiter. Im Tagbau wird der Ölschiefder abgebaut und in Schachtöfen ausgeschwelt. Durch die Erhitzung verflüchtigt sich das Öl zu einem milchig weißen Dampf, der abgesaugt und in Kondensationstürmen abgekühlt wird, wo er sich als Steinöl niederschlägt.

Dieses Steinöl wird im Veredelungsbetrieb in Jenbach im Unterinntal zu naturbelassenen Produkten verarbeitet, die im werkseigenen Labor laufend einer strengen Qualitätskontrolle unterzogen werden.

NEU: Tiroler Steinöl® Vitalberg
Im Vitalberg Besucherzentrum in Pertisau erfahren Sie alles über Herkunft, Bedeutung und Anwendungsvielfalt des Tiroler Steinöl® und erleben Sie die Chronik eines kleinen Familienbetriebes im Karwendelgebirge.

» zurück